My Marriage Must: Sposalizio

I can’t say I’m anywhere close to planning my wedding, but when I do, I know the music selection will be on the top of the priority list. One thing has already been decided: Sposalizio will be played.

When I started learning Sposalizio, I had no idea the degree to which I would fall in love. I am mesmerized  this jewel of a work – it is one of those pieces that has the potential to actually take your breath away.

This romantic style piece was written by Franz Liszt in 1958 with the vision of Raphael’s oil painting “The Marriage of the Virgin” in mind.

Raphael's Lo Sposalizio

Raphael’s “Lo Sposalizio” | “The Marriage of the Virgin”

The serenity of the painting is reflected by Liszt’s musical interpretation.

The first sounds heard are the wedding bells. This melody is stated simply at first, but evolves throughout the entire piece. Eventually, the ringing of the bells takes the listener into a wedding march. However, the march becomes increasingly passionate. Through this transformation, Liszt tells a story much more elaborate than a perfect love on a cloudless wedding day. I can only imagine that the conglomeration of sound represents the mix of emotions felt on a wedding day.

This changing theme leads the listener to the climax, in which the march is played over crashing octaves that represent the first wedding bell theme. The intensity resigns into some of the only heartbreak felt in the piece, (from 6:40-7:10 in this video), but not to worry – the ending is a happy one.

Brendel’s version is one of best interpretations I could find on YouTube. My perception is a bit different – come hear my unique take on Liszt’s charming piece at my Senior Recital on April 21st. I hope to post an MP3 of my performance after that date.

~ by hannahkuelbs on December 3, 2012.

One Response to “My Marriage Must: Sposalizio”

  1. This is truly a delightful composition. I hope to hear you play it at your Senior Recital. Carol

Leave a Reply

 
